Welcome to the 2006 World Cup HQ

Sports Index - -
Football - -
Soccer - -
Hockey - -
Eco/Travel - -
Music - -
Food - -
Brewskie - -
Computers - -
Main Page

World Cup Links Qualifying for World Cup finals View World Cup schedule - TBA
Up to date Group Tables For Statheads -Goals, pen kicks, corner kicks, red/yellow cards, fouls. Team Rosters - TBA - when final rosters announced.

Official World Cup links

Official site for 2006 World Cup Germany

2002 World Cup Korea/Japan

World Cup: Deutschland 2006

World Cup Fan Site

Individual Federation Playdown Results

WORLD CUP 2006 Draw list

The preliminary draw for the qualifying rounds for the 2006 World Cup to be staged in Germay, June 1 to 30, 2006.

Asia/AFC - 44 teams

Qualifying results for Asian Zone

Group 1 - Iran, Jordan, Qatar, Laos

Group 2 - Palestine, Uzbekistan, Iraq, Chinese Taipei

Group 3 - Japan, Oman, India, Singapore

Group 4 - China PR, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Malaysia

Group 5 - United Arab Emirates, Thailand, Korea DPR, Yemen

Group 6 - Bahrain, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Syria

Group 7 - Korea Republic, Vietnam SR, Lebanon, Maldives

Group 8 - Turkmenistan, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Indonesia

Oceania/OFC - 12 teams

Qualifying results for Oceanian Zone

Group 1 - Tahiti, Solomon Islands, New Caledonia, Tonga, Cook Islands

Group 2 - Fiji, Vanuatu, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, and American Samoa

In the Oceanian Zone, two qualifying groups will play in the preliminary round. The top two Oceanian teams, Australia and New Zealand, sit it out until the next round where they will then play the group winners and runners-ups of both groups from the first phase.

South America/CONMEBOL - 10 teams

Qualifying results for S. American Zone

Argentina, Paraguay, Brazil, Venezuela, Chile, Uruguay, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia and Bolivia.

The 10 teams will play a qualifying tournament in a league system. The top four teams qualify will qualify for the World Cup finals and the fifth place team plays against the winner of the Oceania qualifications. The winner qualifies for the World Cup finals.

North, Central America and CARIBBEAN/CONCACAF - 35 teams

Qualifying results for N./C. American & Caribbean Zone

Group 1 - Grenada vs Guyana; Winner plays United States to advance out of group

Group 2 - Bermuda vs Montserrat; Winner plays El Salvador to advance out of group

Group 3 - Haiti vs Turks and Caicos; Winner plays Jamaica to advance out of group

Group 4 - British Virgin Islands vs St. Lucia; Winner plays Panama to advance out of group

Group 5 - Cayman Islands vs Cuba; Winner plays Costa Rica to advance out of group

Group 6 - Aruba vs Surinam; Winner plays Guatemala to advance out of group

Group 7 - Antigua & Barbuda vs Netherlands Antilles; Winner plays Honduras to advance out of group

Group 8 - Canada vs Belize; Winner to advance out of group

Group 9 - Dominica vs Bahamas; Winner plays Mexico to advance out of group

Group 10 - Virgin Islands vs St. Kitts & Nevis; Winner plays Barbados to advance out of group

Group 11 - Dominican Republic vs Anguilla; Winner plays Trinidad to advance out of group

Group 12 - Nicaraugua vs VIN; Winner to advance out of group

Africa/CAF - 52

Qualifying results for African Zone

Group A - Senegal, Mali, Zambia, Togo, Liberia, Congo

Group B - South Africa, Congo DR, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Uganda, Cape Verde Islands

Group C - Cameroon, Egypt, Cote D'Ivoire, Libya, Sudan, Benin

Group D - Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Algeria, Angola, Gabon, Rwanda

Group E - Tunisia, Morrocco, Kenya, Guinea, Malawi, Botswana

The five group winners will advance to the World Cup finals.

Europe/UEFA - 52

Qualifying results for European Zone

Group 1 - Czech Republic, Netherlands, Romania, Finland, Macedonia FYR, Armenia, Andorra

Group 2 - Turkey, Denmark, Greece, Ukraine, Georgia, Albania, Kazakhstan

Group 3 - Portugal, Russia, Slovakia, Latvia, Estonia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg

Group 4 - France, Ireland Republic, Switzerland, Israel, Cyprus, Faeroe Islands

Group 5 - Italy, Slovenia, Scotland, Norway, Belarus, Moldova

Group 6 - England, Poland, Austria, Wales, Northern Ireland, Azerbaijan

Group 7 - Spain, Belgium, Serbia and Montenegro, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Lithuania, San Marino

Group 8 - Sweden, Croatia, Bulgaria, Iceland, Hungary, Malta

Group winners advance to the World Cup finals. Eight runners-up go into a playoff to determine four more qualifiers. Another runner-up meets an Asian team in the final playoff.

Click for footie page